World Series Winners/Losers, Wins By Team, Games

World Series Winners, Most Wins By Team, Games
Photo Credit: Pixabay

The World Series serves as the Major League Baseball (MLB) pinnacle trophy. It is the game of all games in the American sports world.

Previous years have seen magical, historic, exciting, and as well agonizing moments highlight in the World Series annual championship.

Here’s a comprehensive compilation of the most World Series wins by team, complete champions list, and also information about how many games are played and the next World Series.

List of World Series Winners

The table below shows the complete list of MLB World Series winners (1903–2019), ordered by year, starting from the most recent.

2019Washington NationalsHouston Astros4-3
2018Boston Red SoxLos Angeles Dodgers4-1
2017Houston AstrosLos Angeles Dodgers4-3
2016Chicago CubsCleveland Indians4-3
2015Kansas City RoyalsNew York Mets4-1
2014San Francisco GiantsKansas City Royals4-3
2013Boston Red SoxSt. Louis Cardinals4-2
2012San Francisco GiantsDetroit Tigers4-0
2011St. Louis CardinalsTexas Rangers4-3
2010San Francisco GiantsTexas Rangers4-1
2009New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies4-2
2008Philadelphia PhilliesTampa Bay Rays4-1
2007Boston Red SoxColorado Rockies4-0
2006St. Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers4-1
2005Chicago White SoxHouston Astros4-0
2004Boston Red SoxSt. Louis Cardinals4-0
2003Florida MarlinsNew York Yankees4-2
2002Anaheim AngelsSan Francisco Giants4-3
2001Arizona DiamondbacksNew York Yankees4-3
2000New York YankeesNew York Mets4-1
1999New York YankeesAtlanta Braves4-0
1998New York YankeesSan Diego Padres4-0
1997Florida MarlinsCleveland Indians4-3
1996New York YankeesAtlanta Braves4-2
1995Atlanta BravesCleveland Indians4-2
1993Toronto Blue JaysPhiladelphia Phillies4-2
1992Toronto Blue JaysAtlanta Braves4-2
1991Minnesota TwinsAtlanta Braves4-3
1990Cincinnati RedsOakland Athletics4-0
1989Oakland AthleticsSan Francisco Giants4-0
1988Los Angeles DodgersOakland Athletics4-1
1987Minnesota TwinsSt. Louis Cardinals4-3
1986New York MetsBoston Red Sox4-3
1985Kansas City RoyalsSt. Louis Cardinals4-3
1984Detroit TigersSan Diego Padres4-1
1983Baltimore OriolesPhiladelphia Phillies4-1
1982St. Louis CardinalsMilwaukee Brewers4-3
1981Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees4-2
1980Philadelphia PhilliesKansas City Royals4-2
1979Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles4-3
1978New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers4-2
1977New York YankeesLos Angeles Dodgers4-2
1976Cincinnati RedsNew York Yankees4-0
1975Cincinnati RedsBoston Red Sox4-3
1974Oakland AthleticsLos Angeles Dodgers4-1
1973Oakland AthleticsNew York Mets4-3
1972Oakland AthleticsCincinnati Reds4-3
1971Pittsburgh PiratesBaltimore Orioles4-3
1970Baltimore OriolesCincinnati Reds4-1
1969New York MetsBaltimore Orioles4-1
1968Detroit TigersSt. Louis Cardinals4-3
1967St. Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox4-3
1966Baltimore OriolesLos Angeles Dodgers4-0
1965Los Angeles DodgersMinnesota Twins4-3
1964St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-3
1963Los Angeles DodgersNew York Yankees4-0
1962New York YankeesSan Francisco Giants4-3
1961New York YankeesCincinnati Reds4-1
1960Pittsburgh PiratesNew York Yankees4-3
1959Los Angeles DodgersChicago White Sox4-2
1958New York YankeesMilwaukee Braves4-3
1957Milwaukee BravesNew York Yankees4-3
1956New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3
1955Brooklyn DodgersNew York Yankees4-3
1954New York GiantsCleveland Indians4-0
1953New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-2
1952New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3
1951New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2
1950New York YankeesPhiladelphia Phillies4-0
1949New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-1
1948Cleveland IndiansBoston Braves4-2
1947New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-3
1946St. Louis CardinalsBoston Red Sox4-3
1945Detroit TigersChicago Cubs4-3
1944St. Louis CardinalsSt. Louis Browns4-2
1943New York YankeesSt. Louis Cardinals4-1
1942St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-1
1941New York YankeesBrooklyn Dodgers4-1
1940Cincinnati RedsDetroit Tigers4-3
1939New York YankeesCincinnati Reds4-0
1938New York YankeesChicago Cubs4-0
1937New York YankeesNew York Giants4-1
1936New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2
1935Detroit TigersChicago Cubs4-2
1934St. Louis CardinalsDetroit Tigers4-3
1933New York GiantsWashington Senators4-1
1932New York YankeesChicago Cubs4-0
1931St. Louis CardinalsPhiladelphia Athletics4-3
1930Philadelphia AthleticsSt. Louis Cardinals4-2
1929Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs4-1
1928New York YankeesSt. Louis Cardinals4-0
1927New York YankeesPittsburgh Pirates4-0
1926St. Louis CardinalsNew York Yankees4-3
1925Pittsburgh PiratesWashington Senators4-3
1924Washington SenatorsNew York Giants4-3
1923New York YankeesNew York Giants4-2
1922New York GiantsNew York Yankees4-0
1921New York GiantsNew York Yankees5-3
1920Cleveland IndiansBrooklyn Dodgers5-2
1919Cincinnati RedsChicago White Sox5-3
1918Boston Red SoxChicago Cubs4-2
1917Chicago White SoxNew York Giants4-2
1916Boston Red SoxBrooklyn Dodgers4-1
1915Boston Red SoxPhiladelphia Phillies4-1
1914Boston BravesPhiladelphia Athletics4-0
1913Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants4-1
1912Boston Red SoxNew York Giants4-3
1911Philadelphia AthleticsNew York Giants4-2
1910Philadelphia AthleticsChicago Cubs4-1
1909Pittsburgh PiratesDetroit Tigers4-3
1908Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers4-1
1907Chicago CubsDetroit Tigers4-0
1906Chicago White SoxChicago Cubs4-2
1905New York GiantsPhiladelphia Athletics4-1
1903Boston Red SoxPittsburgh Pirates5-3
Records for World Series champions

List of World Series Wins by Team

The table below shows the full list of World Series wins by team as well as losses, ordered by teams with the most number of wins.

New York Yankees2713
St. Louis Cardinals118
Philadelphia / Kansas City / Oakland Athletics95
Boston Red Sox94
New York / San Francisco Giants812
Brooklyn / Los Angeles Dodgers614
Cincinnati Reds54
Pittsburgh Pirates52
Detroit Tigers47
Chicago Cubs38
Boston / Milwaukee / Atlanta Braves36
St. Louis Browns / Baltimore Orioles34
Washington Senators / Minnesota Twins33
Chicago White Sox32
Philadelphia Phillies25
Cleveland Indians24
New York Mets23
Kansas City Royals22
Toronto Blue Jays20
Miami Marlins20
Houston Astros12
Arizona Diamondbacks10
Los Angeles Angels10
Montreal Expos / Washington Nationals10
San Diego Padres02
Washington Senators / Texas Rangers02
Seattle Pilots / Milwaukee Brewers01
Colorado Rockies01
Tampa Bay Rays01
Seattle Mariners00
Most championships won by a team

How many games are played in the World Series?

Back in 1884, when it was called “The Championship of the United States” in which Providence Grays of the National League won, it was a three games series, meaning only three games were played in determining the then World Series Champion. Subsequent years saw it ranging from six to fifteen games.

However, in modern baseball, the MLB World Series consists of seven games. In some cases, all seven games are not required to be played. A team might have won four before completion of the seven, in that situation, the team who won four emerge as the champions.

2003-2010, the World Series game didn’t go down the distance of the full seven games with AL and NL, both claiming four titles each. 2011, 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2019, the World Series game had gone the entire seven games to determine a winner.

When is the next World Series?

The 2020 World Series is scheduled to start from October 23, with a potential Game 7 to hold on October 31, 2020.

Please feel free to share your views in our comments section below.

ALSO READ: MLB Umpires Salary: How Much Do MLB Umps Make?

Leave a Reply